Wednesday, 28 December 2011

Photo Of Tuface Idibia With Arnold Schwarzenegger At Thisday Awards 2011

The 16th annual ThisDay Awards has announced its nominees for honorary awards that will be dedicated to young entrepreneurs and change makers.

MTV Africa boss, Alex Okosi as well as one of Nigeria’s biggest musical exports 2face Idibia, have been included in the ‘New Champions for an Enduring Africa’ category.

Over the last six years, Okosi has established the MTV franchise in Africa with his bright and proficient ideas on how Nigerian music should be branded. Taking on the mantel of leadership, he has showcased not only Nigerian but African artistes and their music to the world by giving them the necessary and relevant exposure.

Similarly, 2face has garnered much success across the years with chart topping singles, bestselling albums, international features and multiple awards. He has successfully carved a niche for himself as the young and old have embraced his music wholeheartedly.

Both men will square off with other similar successful Nigerian ambassadors – UK born actor Chiwetel Ejiofor, media entrepreneur Toyin Subair, award winning writer Chimamanda Adichie, and celebrated designer Deola Sagoe.

The awards’ motto this year is ‘For excellence and good governance 2011‘, and will also be giving a post humous award to the late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua for his ‘notable economic reforms’ and ‘amnesty programme’.

Here below is the full list nominees and lifetime achievement award recipients:

Young Global Champions

Aigboke Aig-Imokhuede and Herbert Wigwe

Philip Ihenacho and Kolawole Aluko

Ernest Azudialu of Nestoil Engineering

Ladi Balogun

Wale Tinubu and Mofe Boyo of Oando Group

Tope Sonubi, Tonye Cole and Ade Odunsi of Sahara Group

Innocent Chukuma of Innosons Group

Abdulsamad Isyaku Rabiu of BUA

Kashim Bukar Shettima of Barbedos Group

Hassan Usman of Aso Savings & Loans Plc

The Diamond Bank 5 – Emeka Onwuka, U.K Eke, Uzoma Dozie, Dele Akinyemi and Victor Ezenwoko

The GT Bank 5 – Segun Agbaje, Jide Ogundare, Titi Osuntoki and Akin George-Taylor

Sola David-Borha and Yinka Sanni of Stanbic/IBTC

ABC Orjiako of Seplat Petroleum

New Champions for an Enduring Culture

Chimamanda Adichie – Writer

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Actor

Innocent Idibia (2face) – Musician

Alex Okosi – MTV Africa President

Deola Sagoe – Designer

Toyin Subair – Media Entrepreneur

Change Makers in Social Entrepreneurship

Fola Tajudeen Adeola – Fare Foundation

Sam Adeyemi – Daystar

Tony Rapu – Freeman Foundation

Change Makers in Governance

Rotimi Amaechi – Governor, Rivers State

Sanusi Lamido Sanusi – Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria

Lifetime Achievement

Alhaji Hassan

Professor Adebayo Adedeji

Mr. Femi Adeniyi-Williams

Professor Bolaji Akinyemi

Senator Jibril Aminu

Mr. George S. Coumantaros

Professor Emeritus Umaru Shehu

Professor Ben Nwabueze

Ms Francesca Emanuel

Mallam Ismaila Isa Funtua

Alhaji Shehu Malami

Mr. Alex Ibru

Mr. Faisal El-Khalil

Khalifa Isyaku Rabiu

Post Humous Lifetime Achievement

Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’dua


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More